Monday, March 20, 2017

Automatic Attitudinal Response

So for this assignment I thought I was going to struggle finding a post where I showed a bias, because I have always liked to think I was a pretty open minded person.  I have always been interested in listening to what people think and tried to understand why they think the way that they do.  But as I skimmed through all of my post every single last one of them had multiple bias opinions stated in them.  It is kind of shocking to me and in all honestly pretty disappointing, because I will probably always think the way that I think, but I always want to try and listen to others and their opinions. 

The post I would like to address of mine is my very first one, “The Game has Changed.”  It was honestly completely ridiculous for the most part.  I opened up with my very first sentence saying “The story brought up many points of concern, but I feel like it was all very one sided and that side was very Liberal.”  I mean I do not feel like I am wrong for having an opinion, but I was not doing the actual assignment.  I was supposed to discuss the talking points then give an opinion, but I jumped straight to my bias opinion.  Towards the end of that post I went on to say “Although I tried my very best to keep an open mind to the show it was hard for me to follow because I feel like it was all so very one sided and to me that was that Trump is destroying the media and just taking it over.”  I feel like I was pretty much saying I did not even want to listen to the show because it was too one sided.  And to me that is me being default to a primary certitude.  My family is split down the middle when it comes to politics as far as aunts, uncles, and cousins, so I feel like I have always been open to everything.  I mean do not get me wrong, I have my own opinions and biases, but I try not to show them because I also care to hear what others think and I know that if I am being bias it will just turn into an argument instead of a conversation and there is just no need for that. 



I am glad we were given this assignment because I always thought I was pretty neutral when it came to discussing politics, but now that I have went back over some of my post I have realized that I am not always as open minded as I thought and that is something that I will need to work on.

Monday, February 27, 2017

OTM Smoke & Handcuffs


As I listened to On The Media this week Bob Garfield addressed that it appears that president Donald Trump pretty much follows and does everything that Fox news reports on.  This just kind of proves the point that president Trump is not a politician, he is a business man.  Some people would say that president Trump needs to get his information from more than one place.  Others might think that it is okay that he gets his news from Fox News, because most people would say that Fox is a conservative source and he is a conservative person.


President Trump plans on hiring more border patrol officers along with more ICE employees to help control the illegal immigration issue happening in our country.  A lot of people think this is ridiculous, because they feel like Trump wants to get rid of all the illegal immigrants, even the good honest hard working ones.  Others do not see a problem with this.  They think it is understandable.  Some people thought Trump was all talk when he talked about doing all of this in his campaign and cannot believe that it is actually happening


The third issue that was addressed On The Media this week was about the Federal Election Commission.  It was made to enforce campaign finance laws.  It is a group of six people three of them are democrats and three of them are republicans.  For anything to be passed and looked over, there has to be at least four people who vote for it, so that everything is fair, but lately nothing has been happening because the vote is always three to three.  Anne Ravel has had enough with the situation.  The republican party has voted against the democratic party the past 98 percent of the time.  She just feels like things are unfair and that they are not getting anything done because it is always a three to three vote, so what is the point of even having the FEC?


I agree that president Trump does need to broaden where he gets all of his information from.  He can go directly to the sources of almost all news channels if he wanted to and could get more than one view on things.  I also think that it would help his cause and help him confirm things that are actually true, because every news channel or paper has been wrong on things they have reported.  But one thing that I do find kind of ironic is that OTM is sponsored by CNN, which is a liberal news channel, so of course they are going to try and find every little thing that Trump does wrong.


I also think that it is a great thing that Donald Trump wants to hire so many more ICE members and border patrol officers.  I have always heard how it is almost impossible to monitor all the activity on the border, so more officers could not hurt at all.  Trump was saying in his campaign that he was going to do all of this, so I do not know why people are acting surprised.  I also understand that people who are illegal immigrants that are working an honest good life and causing no harm are scared they will be deprted.  But at the same time if you want to be in this country I feel like it needs to be the right way and I understand that is a complicated process, but I feel like we need to make it possible for these people.  Because yeah they might not be out committing crimes or doing bad, but it is also easier for them to evade paying taxes and to me that is just not right or fair, because nobody wants to pay taxes, but we all have to as American citizens.  One thing that I just do not understand is former president Barrack Obama had more people deported than any other president, but nobody makes a big fuss about that and not all of those people who were deported committed violent or drug related crimes.


On the FEC issues I completely agree with Anne Ravel.  I think that if there is any suspicion of unlawful campaign financing on either side it needs to be addressed.  She said it has happened on both ends, the democratic and republican side.  And to me it just does not even make sense to have the six commissioners if it is going to be a three to three vote every time, because nothing is getting done.



Monday, February 20, 2017

Well Informed Race Baiting

Mathew Cooke got into race baiting and talked about how it has been part of our country ever since people started coming to the Americas.  It all started off as a class issue more then a race issue.  People in Europe were told they would be taken to the knew lands of the Americas for free and of course all the people who were not doing to great in Europe wanted to go, but a lot of them were forced to become slaves for petty crimes and just because of there wealth.  whites and blacks were both slaves until our country decided to make it a race thing.There was like a three tier system, poor African Americans which were slaves, poor whites who did not have much besides their freedom, and the master who were in charge of everything and the people who enforced slavery.  Most of this was all because of wealth and just who won the fight or war and there was more whites with more advanced technology, so of course they were the ones who won.  People will say this is not right, but back then it really was just a dog eat dog world and who ever was the most powerful made the rules.  He also gets into how even though slavery was abolished racism was not and it is still a problem today.  He talks about how 60 percent of the prison population is made up of African Americans and how an African American is more likely to go to prison for being in possession of drugs more so than a white person even though white people are statistically more likely to sell drugs.  And all though slavery has been ended it has just been replaced with prisons and some people may say this is not okay and locking people up is not always the right way to handle things and then there are others who say if you are going to do the crime you better be ready to do the time.   He also gets into how there is still a three tier system in the country we live in today and it is the exact same as it use to be, poor blacks are at the bottom, then poor whites, and the masters.  Although there is more of a middle class i today's world the system is still at a disadvantage for the poor, because the system is designed to keep those who are poor, poor still because even though they are trying to get out it just is not that easy , because the system is designed for them to stay there.  Police brutalities happen to all races and to get everybody to just be equal he thinks we need to all become one to take out the master and some people might not completely agree with this because they just do not see everybody truly working together for the greater good.  The media makes race baiting so much worse when we all need to just stand together.


I think Mathew made some very great points and brought some things to my attention that i just did not know.  I did not know that an African American was more likely to go to prison or get more time then a white person is.  To me that just does not make sense and is definitely racist.  As far as race baiting goes i think the media just makes things a lot worse than it really needs to be.  there are police brutalities against every race, but the media makes it look like all cops are racist when i do not see it like that and a lot of these police brutalities could be avoided if people would just cooperate with police officers instead of act like they are all lawyers and sit there and argue with cops, because you will not win that battle.  Just do what the officer says and fight it in court if you feel like you were treated unfairly.  I also think race plays way to big of a role in our world today when we are all just people.  For example the OJ Simpson case.  They turned that whole double homicide case into a race thing and to me that was just completely unnecessary.  I do agree that to overcome racism and the three tier system that we have, we will have to come together, but right now our country is so divided that I just can not see everybody coming together sadly.






http://www.latimes.com/local/la-oj-simpson-stories-storygallery.html

Monday, February 13, 2017

On the Media "See You in Court"

In On The Media there was a discussion about if president Trump is going to cause a constitutional crisis or not.  The Courts put a hold to Donald Trump's travel band.  He was not too satisfied about that and he plans on going to court over.  People think it is unconstitutional for him to do this because it is taking power away from the court.



The other topic that was talked about was the protesting.  It is kind of a hard subject because, where is the line drawn?  There is protesting peacefully and doing it the right way, then there is people protesting just to cause problems and to riot.  There has been states and cities making laws to make protesting unlawful and some of the laws are making it unsafe to protest.  In Washington it is a felony to protest if it is causing a problem and in North and South Dakota they pretty much made it to where it is okay to run a protester over if they are in middle of the road.  Some people might think that putting these restraints are a good thing because it is getting out of hand once things turn violent and destructive.  Others would say that this is unconstitutional and is taking away their rights to practice the first amendment.  That is what our country was founded on.  We came here to be able to stand up for what we believe in.  The man that taught at Dartmouth had some good points and was saying that it is one thing to protest, but we need to snip it in the butt at the beginning, because if we wait too long it will be disastrous.  The man from Columbia suggested that we should make designated areas for peaceful protest because it would make for less conflict and less destruction.  In all these large protest all we ever see is the rioting and destruction.  This is because that is the way the media portrays it to us.  The media leaves out all the people protesting the right way and only shows us the bad. This is the issue.



I do not see what President Trump is doing to be unconstitutional.  I think he is just trying to do what he has been telling us he was going to do since he was a president nominee.  I do not think he is trying mend the constitution.  He is doing the same thing that president Obama did and nobody protested and rioted about that.  It just seems like no matter what Trump does people want to protest and freak out about it.  Nobody is giving him a chance.  As far as the protesting goes, I think there is a right and a wrong way to do it.  I think it is one thing to stand up for what you believe in and voice that, but once you are blocking highways and main streets, then it has gone too far.  In the protest in Washington DC at President Trump's inauguration there was 6 police officers injured and 217 arrest.  To me that is just too far.  I get that it is a constitutional right to have freedom of speech and protest, but what is it solving?  To me I see it as dividing our country and causing conflict between all of us, because they are sitting here fighting each other based on one and anthers political views.  I just do not see the point, because it is like religion.  Nobody is changing anybody's mind when it comes to those things.  I also do not agree with these large protest because there is always violence and destruction of public property.  To me that is not protesting, that is rioting.  It puts people in harm’s way and puts police officers at high risk.  Not always but more so now than before I feel like a lot of people do not even care about the protest itself, they just want to be part of something, so they are following the crowd.  I think that if we made places designated for protesting it would be a good idea, but how do we know that people are actually going to go and protest there instead of right in middle of the street?



Monday, February 6, 2017

Well Informed The Future of Learning

The future of learning is headed in a great direction.  The schooling system was made based on what the country needed back when we were a developing country and that was people for the military and that is why the school system is so uniform.  It has not changed a whole lot as far as the system itself.  Everybody goes to school in a class of students where they are taught the same things and tested on it to determine what their grade will be.  Everybody learns differently and at a different rate, so there needs to be a way so that kids can all have an equal chance in the learning environment.  In the video I watched for the Future of learning They are saying that this is the first generation that is not afraid of technology and that will benefit them tremendously.  It is like this because since we were children technology was a normal thing and it is what we use to communicate a long with gather and retain information.  The video says that the technology they are working on helps children learn at their own rate and in a way that makes sense to them.  It is also picking up when they will learn the best, like what time of day and for how long they can study something before their brain just tunes out and they become uninterested and everything they are being taught is basically white noise.  As time goes on this system will just get smarter and smarter because it will pick up on the way a certain kid learns and on the things they struggle with and this is beneficial because not only will it pick up on those things, but it will figure out in which manner would be the best in teaching the information and then the system will know how to help the next kid that come along who faces the same or similar struggles.  Another thing that is being done is online schooling for college.  These college students are getting a great education at a lot cheaper of a cost,  They think that it does not necessarily matter how high you scored on your SAT or ACT because that is not the greatest measure of somebody's intelligence, but they do not think that this will become a big thing until they get people talking at a higher level, saying that these big name ivy league schools are not all we make them out to be and they just get people to see what it is that they are trying to do.





Some people might not completely agree with this new learning system.  They might say what is the point in even having schools if they are just going to be learning online and the system is going to adjust to the way that they learn?  It is going to be taking jobs away from teachers, because if it all online then what is the point in anybody going to school to teach a child?  It is basically like a daycare where the children will sit on a computer to learn.  And if that is to happen then the student is losing opportunity on social interaction with other children, so how will they learn social skills?




For the online schooling for college students people might not completely agree with it because if you are learning online it makes it easier to cheat and just go Google an answer.  Kids in school might not agree with this approach because it takes away from just the environment of college itself and that is part of the reason why they pay to go to school.



I think that the future of learning is looking bright.  I think that this system would be great, because i know that personally there were some things that i struggled with as a young kid and back then i did not know how to seek for the help I needed so i just would not do it if I did not know how.  I do not think that this system will get rid of schools it will just help children learn the way that is best for them and almost help develop their critical thinking skills better then I was able to at a young age.  This system will not take jobs away because as a young kid you will still need help and so this system will just be another tool for teachers everywhere.  As far as the system for college students I think it is a great option for some people, but just not for me.  To me college is all about the experiences you have because you will learn some great life lessons along the way and it is what will help you grow into the adult you become.

Monday, January 30, 2017

Well Informed. Democracy 2.0

In this week's well informed on Democracy 2.0 Pia Mancini explained how we are using a system from the 19th century to decide who is in charge and leads us, along with making all of the important decisions for our country.  Mia in Argentina along with her colleagues have designed software that is available through an app on the phone.  The app was made to bring the average citizen into the legislative process and to get candidates to represent and listen to the citizens more.  The main idea is that the way a democracy and its system works is just extremely outdated and it just kind of keeps all the citizens who do not have crazy amounts of money involved without devoting their entire lives to becoming a politician themselves and not just in the dark with what is happening.  Many people might think this is an amazing idea, but on the other hand it is a very risky thing.  It is risky because how can it be ensured that the app can not be hacked and pulled in the exact opposite direction of what majority of the citizens wanted?  Another worry is what if the app is just a way to make people think they have a voice and it just really does not mean anything.


I think Pia is onto something, but I personally do not think it will solve the problem we have with the democracy and it's system.  I get how the system works and that all the representatives are suppose to speak for majority of what the citizens vote for, but how do we know that is what is really going to happen?  I feel like for the government to be a government for the people by the people it should go off of the popular vote because, for example if i was a democrat and i lived in Utah there is just no reason for me to vote for the president, because Utah votes Republican every single time,  but if the  election was based off of the popular vote and there was a way to prove that everybody's vote was really counted for and counted right, then everybody's vote would truly matter and to me that is what a democracy should be.  Everybody's vote should have relevance and everybody should have some kind of a voice.



I do not think technology or the internet is the answer to our problems.  I do think that it does and can have a very strong influence on the government and the people by influencing the way peoples political views will go, but to me I just feel like it is just not completely reliable, technology has proven itself to fail over and over again.  It has gotten better over time, but it is just not where it needs to be to represent people and their votes.  I feel like it can be hacked/  I think information is easily lost in technology and to me it is just not reliable.  If government files can be hacked then so can an app that gives the citizens a voice and if that is the case it can be disastrous.  " President Obama struck back at Russia on Thursday for its efforts to influence the 2016 election, ejecting 35 suspected Russian intelligence operatives from the United States and imposing sanctions on Russia’s two leading intelligence services."  These files are suppose to be the secure and if our president has to take action against Russia it just goes to show that technology is not completely reliable.  I feel like all it would take is the wrong person to disagree with the people who has a lot of power to have the app hacked and everything changed.  Technology is just a sketchy unreliable thing and i do not think it can solve our problem and give the citizens the voice that Mia is hoping for,







Monday, January 23, 2017

Iron Mountain Crane & Hoist





The page I am going to run for my campaign will be Iron Mountain Crane & Hoist's page.  They are a local crane and hoist repair shop based out of Salt lake City Utah.  They are a smaller family owned business and I am doing this because it is owned by my father and I feel like it could possibly bring them so more business.   The Name of my venture will be "Iron Mountain Crane & Hoist".  The mission is simple and that is to provide anybody who needs their cranes or hoist inspected and maintained with the best service at reasonable prices.

This page will target home owners of all ages.  It will also target businesses with large machinery that is moved frequently though out the day by cranes and even hotels, because many hotels lighting in show rooms is held up with hoist.  The market for these services is so large that it can go from helping somebody in their homes to big government jobs.

I will try and reach my audience by sharing this page with my personal social media accounts such as my personal Facebook page and twitter account.  I will also invite people from my personal account to follow and share the page.

My goal is is to reach out to people and just get more exposure to the business.  I started the page, so I started with 0 likes.

This is my ad that i created.
I have shared multiple post on my own personal page and it has generated many views and even a few likes on the page.













When I first started this page my goal was just to get people to like my page and see what the business has to offer.  At first I struggled getting likes, but I made the supervisor Jeremy May an admin of the page just to see if it would help bring more likes in.  And sure enough it worked out great because he has some of their customers as friends on Facebook and he invited some of them.  I finally just started inviting people to the page out of my own personal page and I started getting way more views and likes.

I realized just sharing post from the page onto my own personal page was not going to help my campaign.  One I started inviting people all my post started to reach more people and that was what has worked for me the best.  I added a slide show to the page and that caught more people attention as well.  What I was doing at first was not working and I think that is because I did not really have any likes on the page and nobody was clicking on the post I would share on my own personal page, but once I got just a few likes my post got way more views and likes.



I think if I could redo all of this I would just go invite all 1500 of my friends to the page because the more people that like the page, the more likely I would be to get likes, views, and even shares.